Is Kmail still being developed?

This question was posted on the KDE forum a few days ago and deserves an answer.

Yes, KMail is maintained, It even has a new maintainer since a few months. Laurent Montel now takes care of KMail2 and already made an awesome work.

So, what’s the state of KMail in KDE 4.7 ?

Since the 4.7.0 tag, 556 commits were made in kdepim/kmail.
But KMail is no longer a monolithic block, so let’s add:

  • 207 commits in kdepim/mailcommon,
  • 51 commits in kdepim/mailfilteragent.
  • 98 commits in kdepim/messagecomposer,
  • 43 commits in kdepim/messagecore,
  • 54 commits in kdepim/messagelist,
  • 153 commits in kdepim/messageviewer,

Still not convinced ? Let’s head to the KDE Bugs Tracker

Since the creation of the KMail2 product, 690 bugs were marked as RESOLVED.

Amongst those:

  • 11 bugs were marked as UPSTREAM (bug in one of the KDEPIM/KDE dependencies)
  • 4 bugs were marked as DOWNSTREAM (distribution/packaging bug)
  • 6 bugs were marked as WONTFIX
  • 67 bugs were marked as INVALID
  • 77 bugs were marked as WORKSFORME (the reporter cannot reproduce the issue)
  • 178 bugs were marked as DUPLICATE (!!)
  • 324 bugs were marked as FIXED

Still according to our bugs tracker,

  • 14 bugs were explicitly marked as fixed in 4.7.2
  • 24 bugs were explicitly marked as fixed in 4.7.3
  • 24 bugs were explicitly marked as fixed in 4.7.4
  • 15 bugs were explicitly marked as fixed in 4.8

KMail bugs closed since KDE 4.7.3 (only the reports explicitly marked as fixed-in 4.7.4 are listed):

  • 143059 printing of mails ignores if part of the mail is blinded out
  • 258117 Cannot create Mailing List filter via context menu
  • 259422 Kmail ignores trash folder setting. It moves deleted emails to the local trash folder.
  • 263587 BCC addresses shows bcc’s to “To:” recipient
  • 278060 Mailing list detection does not work
  • 280649 Kontact crash when closing
  • 282652 Setting up filters for Distribution lists does not work
  • 284789 Does not remember mail transport
  • 285134 Closing the drop action popup by clicking somewhere else will execute a “move” operation instead of “cancel”
  • 285508 subject line is always spell checked with default dictionary
  • 285623 emails are not sent until restart of mail dispatcher agent
  • 285653 Thousands of errors “Select Failed, server replied A000… NO Mailbox …
  • 285814 Shortcut for moving mail to folder does not move to folder highlighted in dialog
  • 285878 search mail – unusable sort by date
  • 286505 kmail no more send mails
  • 286615 Encrypted email not decrypted in-time for printing
  • 286663 Kontact crashed when canceling creation of sieve script
  • 286827 Unable to reply to an encapsulated message
  • 286875 Redirected email is stored in wrong sent-folder
  • 286889 Move Thread to Trash Context Menu
  • 286922 edited mail from outbox deleted after closing
  • 287367 Kmail is truncating recipients in “reply to all”
  • 287696 redirected mail isn’t marked as redirected (or forwarded)
  • 287779 Copy Email then Paste As Attachment does not work as expected
Written by krop

7 December 2011 at 22:30

Posted in Bugzilla, KDE, kdepim

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just want to say that I’ve been really happy with KMail2. Albeit it has had its share of bugs (eating my mails, like :P), they eventually gets fixed and it just feels good to KDE person like me. Keep up you good work, KDE PIM team.

    Smar

    7 December 2011 at 23:26

  2. Nice statistics, thanks for sharing those! And of course huge kudos to Laurent :)

    Thomas McGuire

    7 December 2011 at 23:33

  3. I’ve been using kmail for a few months ad i’ve got to say the speed of improvements is fantastic. On each ‘git pull’ on kdepim i see lots of changes and by each update i get a more stable kmail.

    Keep up the good work!

    emilsedgh Sedgh

    7 December 2011 at 23:46

  4. Cool! Oh, excuse me. Kool!
    I just wish other KDE projects had the same activity :(

    blablabla

    7 December 2011 at 23:55

  5. Yup, Kmail2 has definitely reached a tipping point re usability, as of 4.7.3 its back to being my default client. Feels much better to have a native KDE client, looks, feel and integration. Works much better with Gmail imap than kmail1.

    Blackpaw

    7 December 2011 at 23:57

  6. Great to hear!

    I heard that Debian guys (I use Debian) wait with KDE PIM upgrade until all critical issues are solved (things like deleting data and stuff). I am sick of being stuck with KDE PIM 4.4, but this post gives me hope that sometime by 4.8 release new KDE PIM may finally get into Debian. Can’t wait!

    Mirosław Zalewski

    8 December 2011 at 00:24

  7. I’ve heard a lot of moaning from some people I know about kmail2. They claim kmail2 (including akonadi) use up more memory than kmail1 did (which is already quite a lot), and last I heard the slow folder opening when you have a folder set to auto open unread threads (in “standard mail list” mode) wasn’t fixed either.
    As an example, my currently running kmail1 process (debian still hasn’t updated to the new kdepim, I assume because they don’t think it’s stable enough) is using about 350MB ram according to “ps_mem.py” (which is reasonably accruate, much better than top/htop). I’ve also seen it reach 512MB and higher with only one folder open, and I have all of my folders set to auto expire after a while, so none of the ones I open ever have a bajillion emails in them. I really do like kmail and want to keep using it, so I’m really hoping these two issues get fixed or have been fixed in the past little while (I tried kmail2 a while back from git, it was pretty nice, but it was rather beta at the time, so it would not be fair to bring up the complaints I had at the time, unless you’re interested).

    Otherwise keep up the good work :) I’ve been using Kmail for years.

    tomasu82

    8 December 2011 at 02:21

    • The full Kontact suite, with KMail, is using here 140 MB of RAM + 60 MB of shared memory. That is in a 64 bit system with 4 GB of RAM (if you have less RAM, it will be less memory). The KMail and Akregator modules were loaded.

      Ernesto Manríquez

      8 December 2011 at 04:48

      • That sounds like good news. Can you add in the memory all of the akonadi (including mysqld) processes related to mail are using as well?

        tomasu82

        9 December 2011 at 01:47

  8. Awesome!

    Love KDE and the apps that accompany it! KDE-Pim has been problematic for me, but I do muttle through because I really like using it; in fact, I have been using KDE-Pim for a very long time (10+ years maybe :)).

    Thanks for the information.

    Much appreciated!

    Joe

    JoeG1484

    8 December 2011 at 03:47

  9. The next step for KMail definitely is:

    1. A Plasma Desktop component that alerts me about incoming mail, fetching all mail from Akonadi.
    2. A mail reader component, as light as possible.
    3. Lightening and polishing the interface, and cutting memory and resource usage.

    The main gap to fulfill this vision ─the lack of network detection─ was completed for KDE 4.7.4 / KDE 4.8. So, I’m waiting! Have luck, KMail team!

    Ernesto Manríquez

    8 December 2011 at 04:45

    • And the first 2 wishes are basically fullfilled by LionMail. Not published yet, has a few tiny bugs, but improves my personal mail handling a lot.

      thijs

      8 December 2011 at 08:45

    • FYI, Lancelot plasmoid does this. It notifies through akonadi imap/pop sources, even without loading Kmail at all. Just put it on your dekstop or add it to your panel. ;)

      oblivion

      8 December 2011 at 12:54

      • I mean the so-called “shelf” container plasmoid.

        oblivion

        8 December 2011 at 12:58

      • Would be nice if it showed teasers and I could select the folders to display. AFAIK I can only see the unreadcount for folders.

        No need for a wish though, guess the dev knows the wish and will make it one day when he has some free time.

        BartOtten

        8 December 2011 at 14:14

  10. I wish the Google Summer of Code project (http://sudhendu.in/node/13) adding improved HTML mail makes it into 4.8 as indicated in the developer’s blog post. 4.7.4 would be better, but I’ll wait :)

    Steve Riley

    8 December 2011 at 08:01

    • Something related to HTML was merged into 4.8 before feature freeze, but I’m not sure if it’s the project you mention.

      Luca Beltrame

      8 December 2011 at 09:36

      • The Reply using HTML if the original messages was in HTML format feature will be in 4.8.

        Andras

        8 December 2011 at 11:34

  11. OK, I’ve looked into Bugs.kde.org, in particular, the WONTFIX section. Excuse me, guys, that’s *not* fixing bugs. That avoiding responsibility. Period. It looks as if you did not have the code, and as if there was some Microsoft forbidding you from fixing the bugs.

    Especially this gem:

    “We can’t do it.”

    Either yo are a developer and a real programmer and *can* do it, or do not call yourself a developer. That’s about it.

    Same with UPSTREAM bugs. “Yeah, our stats are fine, we’ve closed the bug, yay!” Nobody cares if the bug will get lost upstream. You should only close with UPSTREAM *after* the bug gets closed upstream, not the way you’re doing it.

    (This is not a rant. This is an opinion of a person whose country famous for its engineers that never say “We can’t do it”. Russia, that is.)

    thorGT

    8 December 2011 at 11:37

    • You are aware you are complaining about 6+11 bugs (17 in total) compared to 324 markes as FIXED? I didn’t look at those specific reports, but your accusing that the developers are not real programmers is a little harsh.

      Andras

      8 December 2011 at 12:24

    • Looking in details at the WONTFIX bugs:
      – 2 had an incorrect resolution (now fixed)
      – Bug 284057 is about something that was dropped in kmail2 (and was highly confusing anyway)
      – Bug 287755 was asking for an html editor (KMail is not Quanta)
      – Bug 285729 was about reverting years of work to get kdepim 4.4 back
      – Bug 284508 is a misunderstanding of what the ‘Local Folders’ is (it IS a real maildir)
      – Bug 34894 is asking for functionalities that do not exist in Webkit (used for rendering emails)
      – Bug 284386 is about wordwrapping

      krop

      8 December 2011 at 13:32

      • As a developer (but neither a KDE nor webkit developer) I’m a little confused about 34894. Surely it should be possible to render the documents in succession and then combine the separate outputs into one canvas or something similar?

        Paul Eggleton

        8 December 2011 at 16:32

  12. I’m still struggling to get kmail2 to work at all in openSUSE 12.1. As I’ve got it working – up to a point – in 11.4, I suspect the problem may be with SUSE.

    One silly little fault is really annoying me at the moment. The automatic migration fails so I try “kmail-migrator –interactive” and get the reply “kmail-migrator(6557) main: Migration of kmailrc has already run, not running it again.” No, it hasn’t run – it failed! Even if I hit “cancel,” I still get the same stupid message. Didn’t someone think it might be an idea to wait for a successful migration before setting a flag to say it had run?

    You’re not alone in feeling my wrath at the moment. TB is also getting a bit of flack for elderly unfixed bugs. Realistically, I’m not searching for the best e-mailer, just the least worst.

    Graham P Davis

    8 December 2011 at 18:38

  13. Well, is it really nice to say “We won’t do it. Period” in response to the bug report?
    Next, I see that here is only one developer closing the bug reports, and as far as I understand, he’s one of the two new KMail developers. So, we have a new developer closing bugs simply because he doesn’t want to fix them? Or does he do what the KMail development group tells him to do? This is a rather funny situation, don’t you think?
    And my comment about real programmers was related to the WebKit rendering bug. I’m frustrated by this kind of attitude I’m seeing in KDE and OpenSource in general when devs say “Project X does not have that, so we’ll be waiting for 5 years” or “We’re breaking compatibility here, so not doing this or that for the sake of being compatible”. Then wrappers, 5 layers of libs and stuff appear. Is it your code or not? Is it open or not? Is Microsoft not allowing you to change it?

    If Linux had behaved like that, we would still have been using Windows, all of us…

    thorGT

    8 December 2011 at 19:47

    • So, what’s your solutions exactly ? Looks to me that you mix everything.

      1/ The maintainer decides what he wants to fix or implement and decides how… and no, not every bugs will be fixed. Short statistic: if all the KMail1 wish requests were implemented, kmail would have 74 more options.

      What users forget when opening a wish report is wondering whether what they wish is useful for more than themselves.

      2/ Not every functionalities from kmail1 will be in kmail2.

      3/ If a bug is in one of the KDE dependencies (Qt, Webkit or whatever else), yes, the bugs will be closed with RESOLVED/Upstream. “resolved” means there’s nothing more to do on this bug report.

      4/ To answer the first question, would you be happier if we let the bug reports rot ?

      krop

      8 December 2011 at 20:08

  14. Just wanted to thank you krop for all the work you do with the bugs, Thanks!

    Torgny Nyblom

    9 December 2011 at 16:44

  15. Only one question. Where i can find openchange connector?

    проходил

    11 December 2011 at 09:30

  16. I’ve been a long time KDE user…till such time 4.6 came out. Forcing upon users to use Akonadi was just too painful for someone who needs email at work. Kmail (older version) was buggy, Akonadi crashed often, couldn’t get Google Contacts/Calendar to sync with Kontact and the entire PIM suite being more of a memory hog than anything else. I went to GNOME during that time. Now I checked out Kmail2 a couple of days ago…and its not any better! Akonadi still crashes, Kmail aborts due to some resource problem, IMAP access is really bad as I cannot access the INBOX folder on my email server…

    PIM forms a major…major backbone of any user experience and it needs to *just* work. Evolution and Thunderbird just work. I switched back to GNOME3…even though the entire workspace flow needs getting used to..its worth it with stability offered by Evolution and the desktop which doesn’t crash everytime I log out…and desktop effects that work all the time.

    Anshulnshul Jain

    12 December 2011 at 03:35

  17. Oh, that’s the reason why I have a stable system now…. :) I was converting back again to KMail few days ago. Last time I used KMail, it was broken. Now, it’s stable and fast. And one thing I love, when I clicked the close button it hides into systray. Neat. :)

    Btw, when I converted into the new KMail2, I have to run MySQL server on localhost and created my own database for Akonadi. Then, set in the Akonadi Configuration to use that database instead of running MySQL server on its own. This might help people who may have a problem in migration like me.

    Kudos to KMail developer. :)

    Jan Peter

    12 December 2011 at 04:51

  18. [...] Is Kmail still being developed? Yes, KMail is maintained, It even has a new maintainer since a few months. Laurent Montel now takes care of KMail2 and already made an awesome work. [...]

  19. I am just fed up with the fact that every time I close Kontact I get a crash. I gave up on trying to use mail filters because they don’t/didn’t work. I really like using the suite but the crashes are just plain annoying. As others have said there appears to be a long list of bugs. When I do a search to find out what I can do to fix the program I get pages of Google responses outlining bugs that go back years but no actual answer. If it didn’t work why did we upgrade ?

    Thankful to the team for their hard work but as I am a pretty easy user with a couple of Pop accounts, three calenders, and a journal, it must be hell for people who are trying to run anything complicated. And I stuck with using my Pop accounts even though I could IMAP them precisely because of all the worried faces out their for IMAP.

    Apart from that a Happy New Year to everyone

    Simon

    20 December 2011 at 15:57

  20. When KDE Team rape users with KDE 4 it started the same or worse calvary as was when KDE came out and I was and I am still KDE user. How long? Soon. I am waiting for FreeBSD 9.0 Release which I will Install from scratch and fast and stable LXDE with Thunderbird.

    Stari

    27 December 2011 at 18:44


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

